Faculty of Science, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) - Introduction


The Science Faculty has over 3,600 students guided by more than 400 teaching and research staff. Our very strong Faculty members include a Nobel laureate, a Fields medallist, and Academicians of the Chinese Academies of Sciences and Engineering. All are committed to the pursuit of excellence in teaching and research.

The Faculty has six major teaching units (School of Life Sciences, Department of Chemistry, Department of Mathematics, Department of Physics, Department of Statistics, and Earth System Science Programme) offering a wide range of undergraduate programmes and postgraduate programmes. These programmes are designed to provide a liberal arts education by combining rigorous biological and physical sciences, and mathematics courses with fundamental liberal arts subjects. Our graduates are well received by the local and international communities, with many of them continuing to pursue successful graduate studies at local and international universities.